2018 Asia Cup moved from India to UAE | Cricket


India celebrate with the Asia Cup trophy © Associated Press

The United Arab Emirates have been awarded the 2018 Asia Cup that was originally slated to be held in India. The tournament is likely to be played between September 13 and 28.

Political tensions between India and Pakistan has been cited as the reason for the change. “The ACC deliberated on the matter and decided that this was the best way forward,” Asian Cricket Council and PCB chairman Najam Sethi told ESPNcricinfo.

In addition, the 2018 Emerging Teams’ Asia Cup will be co-hosted by Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Originally slated for April, the tournament has been moved to December. Pakistan will also play host to the next ACC Annual General Meeting, which will be held later this year.

This year’s Asia Cup will feature Full Members India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. The sixth team will be determined via a playoff that includes UAE, Hong Kong, Nepal, Oman and Papua New Guinea.

This will be the 14th edition of the Asia Cup. The first 12 were staged as ODI competitions, while the previous Asia Cup in 2016 was the first to be held as a T20I event, effectively as a warm-up event ahead of the World T20. India are the defending champions, having beaten Bangladesh in the final two years ago.

Umar Farooq is ESPNcricinfo’s Pakistan correspondent

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Hardik, Axar, Shardul all out of Asia Cup with injury
Javeria Khan to captain Pakistan in Bismah Maroof’s absence
Rashid on verge of signing new Yorkshire deal | Cricket
Ed Smith shows pragmatic side as England seek formula for overseas success
South Africa, West Indies split points after rained out second ODI | Cricket

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *