Bangladesh bowl, Taijul replaces Rubel; Keemo Paul debuts for West Indies | Cricket

West Indies

Toss won by Bangladesh who chose to field
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

© CWI Media

Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan chose to field first against West Indies in the second Test in Kingston. West Indies, who are already without Kemar Roach, who was rested due to a hamstring injury, replaced him with Keemo Paul, who became the 315th Test cricketer for his country. Paul received his cap from the legendary fast bowler Curtly Ambrose.

West Indies also dropped their only specialist spinner – Devendra Bishoo. Shimron Hetmyer took Bishoo’s place as West Indies bolstered their batting.

Shakib said he still has faith in his batting order, despite Bangladesh’s twin collapses in the series-opener in Antigua, which is why they made just one change, in their bowling attack. And it was an interesting one, with left-arm spinner Taijul Islam being replaced by Rubel Hossain, who went wicketless in the first Test.

West Indies: 1 Kraigg Brathwaite, 2 Devon Smith, 3 Kieran Powell, 4 Shai Hope, 5 Roston Chase, 6 Shimron Hetmyer, 7 Shane Dowrich (wk), 8 Jason Holder (capt), 9 Keemo Paul, 10 Miguel Cummins, 11 Shannon Gabriel

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Liton Das, 3 Mominul Haque, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim, 5 Shakib Al Hasan (capt), 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Nurul Hasan (wk), 8 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 9 Taijul Islam, 10 Abu Jayed, 11 Kamrul Islam

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

India hire Sri Lankan throwdown specialist to counter left-arm threat
New Zealand women pick spin-heavy squads for Australia T20Is, World T20
Pat Brown “very close” to England after memorable T20 campaign
Maxwell confirms mixed selection messages
Sri Lankan police question spectators over possible links to fixers

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *