Ntozakhe added to CSA womens’ contracts

South Africa

In what could be seen as a sign of continuity looking ahead to the next cycle of the ICC Women’s Championship and the Women’s World T20 to be played in West Indies later this year, Cricket South Africa have offered contracts to 13 of the 14 players from the 2017-18 season.

The only new addition is Gauteng’s 21-year old offspinner Raisibe Ntozakhe. Marcia Letsoalo, the 33-year-old fast bowler who last played over a year ago at the World Cup Qualifiers, is the only exclusion from the list.

The new contracts will come into effect on May 1 and run up to April 30, 2019.

South Africa, who hosted India for a limited-overs series in February, have a busy 14 months coming up. They next host Bangladesh in May before touring England and West Indies for the second and third round of championship matches. The World T20 and a home series against Sri Lanka will follow that.

“The esteem in which our women’s team is held following their successful campaign when they reached the semi-finals of the ICC Women’s World Cup last year is reflected in their invitation to have a major tour of England including a T20 triangular series against England and New Zealand,” said Corrie van Zyl, CSA’s general manager. “It is important that we build on our recent successes as we prepare for this year’s Women’s World T20.

CSA contracts list for 2018-19: Dane van Niekerk, Ayabonga Khaka, Sune Luus, Marizanne Kapp, Mignon du Preez, Shabnim Ismail, Trisha Chetty, Chloe Tryon, Lizelle Lee, Laura Wolvaardt, Masabata Klaas, Andrie Steyn, Mosaline Daniels, Raisibe Ntozakhe

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Soumya, Sabbir back in selection spotlight
10PM EMBARGO Jonny Bairstow ready for challenge of batting No. 5 and keeping wicket
Nitschke, Noffke join Australia women’s support staff as assistant coaches
Mohammad Amir fit to face a pivotal moment of his career
NZC eyes alternative option to Eden Park for cricket in Auckland

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *