Warner and Smith axed from IPL 2018


Steven Smith and David Warner will not be allowed to play in IPL 2018 because of their roles in the pre-meditated plan to tamper with the ball on the third day of the Cape Town Test against South Africa.

The decision from the BCCI – announced by IPL chairman Rajiv Shukla – came as news broke that Cricket Australia was banning the players for 12 months, in the wake of tremendous outrage over the incident at Newlands from the Australian public, the Australian government and sponsors.

Smith and Warner had already stood down as captains of their IPL franchises – Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad – on Monday and Wednesday morning, but their non-participation in this season was only confirmed after they were banned by CA.

More to follow

Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Supreme Court shoots down TNPL plea for outstation players
Ryan Cook named Bangladesh fielding coach
West Indies tour has prepared us for South Africa’s pacers – Roshen Silva
NatWest hero Mohammed Kaif retires from cricket on 16th anniversary of memorable final
Steyn equals Pollock; South Africa set 352 to win

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *